How to remove a Google account from your Android or iOS device

In today’s world, information overload may occur at a moment’s notice, and in order to reach mental ease, you may find that you just need to simplify some aspects of your life. This may be accomplished in part by removing all Google accounts from the device in question. But before you go ahead and do that, you need to make sure you fully understand what it entails and the consequences of your actions.

To begin, deleting a user account is not the same as removing an account from use. When a Google account is removed from an Android or iPhone device, access is merely removed from that specific device; however, it is still possible to recover the account at a later time. On the other hand, all information that was saved on that device via the account will be deleted. This includes stuff like your email, your contacts, and the settings on your device.

It is highly recommended that you create a backup of your device before deactivating an account from an iPhone or Android smartphone.

Keeping this in mind, the following is instruction on how to delete a Google account from a device running Android or iOS:

What Occurs If You Cancel Your Google Account on Your Android Mobile Phone?

If you delete a Google account from your Android smartphone, all that will happen is that you will no longer be able to access the account using that specific device. It is possible to get it at a later time by just logging in to your Google account on your Android device. Be aware, however, that if you delete the account from your phone, all information that was previously stored on the device will also be deleted along with it. This implies that you will not be able to see stuff like as emails, contacts, settings, app data, and many others that were synchronized with the account. Before you delete an account from your smartphone, it is critical that you first make a copy of all of the data stored on it and then delete the account.

Remove a Google or other account from your phone

  1. Open your phone’s Settings app.
  2. Tap Passwords & accounts. If you don’t see “Accounts,” tap Users & accounts.
  3. Under “Accounts for,” tap the account you want to remove And then Remove account.
  4. To confirm, tap Remove account And then OK.
  5. If this is the only Google Account on the phone, you’ll need to enter your phone’s pattern, PIN, or password for security.