Is it finally time to delete a Google account? Moving on from your account is simple, whether you want to switch to a new email provider or you’ve decided it’s time to get rid of the humiliating username you came up with years ago.
The deletion of a Google account cannot be undone. When you are through with the procedure, all of your emails and the settings for your account will be deleted. Your Google account will no longer be able to be used to send or receive emails, and the address will not be made accessible for use by anyone else in the future. You will no longer be able to use your Gmail address.
The deletion of a Google account, on the other hand, does not result in the deletion of the related Google Account for the connected email address. You will still have access to all of the other services that are associated with your Google Account, including Google Drive, your calendar, Google Play, and many more. In the not-too-distant future, Gmail will request that you provide an alternative email address that may be used to sign in to your Google Account. You also have the option to clear the history stored in Google Chrome.
what deleting your google account means
- You’ll lose all the data and content in that account, like emails, files, calendars, and photos.
- You won’t be able to use Google services where you sign in with that account, like Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play.
- You’ll lose access to subscriptions and content you bought with that account on YouTube or Google Play, like apps, movies, games, music, and TV shows.
More data & content you’ll lose
If you use an Android device
You’ll no longer be able to use some apps and services on your device.
- You won’t be able to get or update apps or games from the Play Store.
- You won’t be able to use music, movies, books, or magazines you purchased.
- You’ll lose any music you bought elsewhere and added to Google Play.
- You might lose your game progress, achievements, and other Google Play data from your account.
You’ll lose contacts that are stored only in your Google Account and not separately on your device.
- Data won’t be saved to Drive. This data includes photos taken with your device or files downloaded from emails.
- You won’t be able to download or upload files to the deleted account.
If you use a Chromebook
You won’t be able to use any Chrome apps or extensions for the deleted account.
You’ll still be able to:
- Let others use your Chromebook temporarily
- Sign in with a Google Account that hasn’t been deleted
How to Delete your Google account
Note: If you have more than one Google Account, deleting one won’t delete the others.
- Go to the Data & Privacy section of your Google Account.
- Scroll to “Your data & privacy options.”
- Select More options Delete your Google Account.
- Follow the instructions to delete your account.